JLPT Study Forum Index
 FAQ   Search   Memberlist   Usergroups   Register   Profile   Log in to check your private messages   Log in 
Why take the JLPT?

View previous topic :: View next topic  

Author

ikkyu15
JLPT Starter

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 2:42 am    Post subject: Why take the JLPT?

I am currently studying for the JLPT 2kyuu and was curious about other people's reasons and goals for taking (and hopefully passing) the test.

For future education? For a job? Just for the heck of it?

I'll get started: I learned to speak fluent Japanese while living in Hawaii and working in the Japanese tour industry for about 5 years. Although I studied a bit at the time, I never really learned reading and writing, or proper grammar.

Now, 15 years later, at the age of 42, and in a job I don't like, I decided about a year ago to start studying again. My long-term goal is to get proficient enough to possibly pursue a profession in translation/interpretation.

Thanks for any feedback!

Keith
JLPT Helper

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 1:47 pm    Post subject: Warning: rambling ahead!